The Accidental Apprentice

The first book in the Wilderlore series, a middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of Pokemon, How to Train Your Dragon, and Nevermoor, releasing from Margaret K. McElderry Books at Simon & Schuster on March 30, 2021.

wilderlore_the-accidental-apprentice_cover

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this whimsical and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town’s mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town’s most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay’s horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he’s always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him.

Add it to Goodreads here.
Follow its Instagram here.
Read its first chapter plus an interview with Amanda here.
Request an e-ARC via Edelweiss.

Foreign rights for the Wilderlore series are handled by Heather Baror-Shapiro.

Film rights for the Wilderlore series are handled by Debbie Deuble Hill at APA Talent and Literary.

For publicity inquiries, especially related to ARCs, please contact Amanda’s publicist, Shivani Annirood at Shivani(dot)Annirood(at)simonandschuster(dot)com.

The Accidental Apprentice is available for pre-order at…

Bookshop | Indiebound | Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Books A Million

Pre-order a signed copy at Porter Square Books

Foreign Publishers

France // Casterman
Germany // Loewe

Comments are closed.